Aircraft Accident Prevention and Investigation

There is an increasing need for well trained and qualified accident investigators throughout the aviation industry. New regulations and challenging accidents have and will continue to increase the demand for qualified, knowledgeable investigators.

Helping to meet the need for trained accident investigators is the purpose of the SCSI Certificate in Aircraft Accident Investigation. This SCSI certificate formally acknowledges that you have received the training and possess the knowledge to succeed in the Aircraft Accident Investigation profession. This SCSI certificate program has been carefully designed by the SCSI instructional staff and covers the core areas of knowledge and training required in accident investigation. You will take classroom courses and spend time in the SCSI crash lab with "hands-on" investigation training as you complete this certificate program.

Participants may earn the SCSI certificate in Aircraft Accident Investigation by completing a series of courses as shown below.

Required Courses

Aircraft Accident Investigation (AAI)
In this course you will become familiar with the regulatory requirements for investigation and reporting, not only those requirements applicable to the United Sates, but also those of ICAO Annex 13 upon which almost all modern individual reporting and investigation requirements are based regardless of nation.

Human Factors in Accident Investigations (HFAI)
This course teaches the required material for investigators to (a) identify the human error issues involved in an accident wherever they occurred (e.g. in the cockpit, ATC, management, maintenance, etc.) and (b) know when and how to call on the required human factors experts for further analysis.

Any 3 Electives from this list
  • Aircraft Accident Investigation for Media Professionals (AAIMP)
  • Aircraft Performance Investigation (API)
  • Air Traffic Control Investigation (ATCI)
  • Cabin Accident Investigation (CAI)
  • Electronic Systems Investigation (ESI)
  • Fire and Explosion Investigation (FEI)
  • Fixed Wing Accident Investigation and Reporting (FWIR)
  • Flight Data Analysis (FDA)
  • Flight Reconstruction from GPS Data (GPS)
  • Gas Turbine Accident Investigation (GTAI)
  • Helicopter Accident Investigation (HAI)
  • Investigation Total Immersion (ITI)
  • Investigation Management (IM)
  • Family Assistance Planning (FAP)
  • Aircraft Maintenance Investigation (AMI)
  • Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS)
Transfer Credit

Upon approval by SCSI you may transfer in credit for equivalent courses taken elsewhere (See note below)

Once a participant has completed these five courses, SCSI will award the Certificate of Aircraft Accident Investigation which will list the courses completed and acknowledge your achievement.

Note: SCSI will accept equivalent military or commercial courses from another provider on a case by case basis. The SCSI instructional staff will evaluate requests for transfer of credit and a decision will be made by the Chief Learning Officer. SCSI will only recognize courses completed towards the certificate if they were taken within five years of the certificate date. Anyone wishing to apply for such credit should mail proof of completion (certificate or transcript) along with the category or course(s) to be substituted.